Who We Are

Outside Brands has grown steadily over the last forty years. Our dynamic team is comprised of passionate leaders and talented outdoorspeople who share a deep connection with local nature, history and culture.

From humble beginnings as a windsurfing school in 1979, Outside has grown into a dynamic 4 division business with operations in South Carolina and Georgia. Driven by a mission to enrich lives by connecting people to exceptional places, products and experiences, Outside offers fully customized group travel services, team building programs, activities and specialty retail.

Outside is a constantly evolving and growing business, fortified by a team of dedicated professionals who are passionate about creating and delivering truly remarkable experiences for all of Outside’s clients. Leveraging their deep local connections, Outside designs exclusive experiences catered to the needs and objectives of their customers. Simply put, Outside unlocks the nature, history and culture of the Lowcountry and Coastal Empire for our customers.

An evolution
of growth

^
1970's

Mike Overton started a small windsurfing company on the beaches of Hilton Head Island while on summer break from the University of Vermont. He would soon move the start-up school to South Beach, on the southern end of the island. It would become the largest windsurfing school on the East Coast, and hosted some of the best attended windsurfing events available.

^
1980's

As the island and Mike’s vision grew, Windsurfing Hilton Head became Outside Hilton Head and then simply Outside. During those early years, Outside concentrated on creating and providing interpretive kayak tours to island residents and visitors. The flagship store, located in the Plaza at Shelter Cove, was opened in 1986 and offered an expanded selection of the finest outdoor wear and gear available.

^
1990's

Outside acquired Page Island, a 40-acre chain of hammock islands on the back side of Daufuskie. At this new location, a series of team and leadership development courses were built and Outside began offering boating based programs to get guests to and from Page Island.

^
2000's

Outside outgrew its original facilities and established operations at Shelter Cove Marina and Palmetto Bluff, growing into the most comprehensive outdoor outfitter in the region. Offerings expanded into numerous unique kayak tours, extensive boating programs, fishing trips, children and teen camps, history tours, scavenger hunts, and much more.

^
2010's
Ever the optimist, Outside leveraged the downturn in the economy to refocus and add a new line of business to their repertoire – Destinations DMC. As a full-service destination management company, Destinations DMC creates exclusive experiences and offerings for groups, including transportation, activities, team building programs, events, decor, staffing, and auxiliary services. With the evolution and growth in Savannah, GA, Outside began offering both leisure boating experiences and destination management services. In 2019, Outside celebrated its 40th Anniversary!

Our Team

Leadership

Mike Overton

Mike Overton

Founder & CEO

Hire Date
May 1979

Passionate about
Tides

Contact
mike@outsidebrands.com

Jordan Treadaway

Jordan Treadaway

COO

Hire Date
May 2005

Passionate about
Travel, community, and growth

Contact
jordan@outsidebrands.com

Sarah Tillman

Sarah Tillman

CFO

Hire Date
January 2020

Passionate about
Recognizing God’s beauty

Contact
saraht@outsidebrands.com

Jessie Renew

Jessie Renew

Director of Marketing

Hire Date
May 2011

Passionate about
Art & nature

Contact
jessier@outsidebrands.com

Carol Kavanaugh

Carol Kavanaugh

VP of Destinations DMC

Hire Date
April 2013

Passionate about
Learning and sharing life’s lessons

Contact
carol@outsidebrands.com

Meghan Cline

Meghan Cline

Director of Retail

Hire Date
May 2012

Passionate about
Time with family & friends

Contact
meghan@outsidebrands.com

Mickey Price

Mickey Price

Director of Marine Operations

Hire Date
March 2006

Passionate about
Being outdoors

Contact
mickey@outsidebrands.com

Emily Emery

Emily Emery

Director of Human Resources

Hire Date
October 2020

Passionate about
My family

Contact
emilye@outsidebrands.com

Kelsey Gallagher

Kelsey Gallagher

Digital Marketing Manager

Hire Date
May 2020

Passionate about
Protecting our natural spaces

Contact
kelseyg@outsidebrands.com

Katie Kavanaugh

Katie Kavanaugh

Special Projects Manager

Hire Date
February 2019

Passionate about
My community and my dog

Contact
katiek@outsidebrands.com

Anneliza "Pippi" Itkor

Anneliza "Pippi" Itkor

Brand Sales Promoter

Hire Date
May 2017

Passionate about
Learning, teaching, conservation, adventure

Contact
pip@outsidebrands.com

Destination Management

Carol Kavanaugh

Carol Kavanaugh

VP of Destinations DMC

Hire Date
April 2013

Passionate about
Learning and sharing life’s lessons

Contact
carol@outsidebrands.com

Alyssa Turkowsky

Alyssa Turkowsky

Group Program Manager

Hire Date
May 2013

Passionate about
Family, Friends, Animals, Outdoors

Contact
alyssat@outsidebrands.com

Retail

Meghan Cline

Meghan Cline

Director of Retail

Hire Date
May 2012

Passionate about
Time with family & friends

Contact
meghan@outsidebrands.com

Britney Wiren

Britney Wiren

Retail Operations Manager

Hire Date
April 2018

Passionate about
Being a mother

Contact
britneyw@outsidebrands.com

Michael Smith

Michael Smith

Savannah Retail Manager

Hire Date
March 2007

Passionate about
Local history and ecology

Contact
michaels@outsidebrands.com

Leisa Cram

Leisa Cram

Women's Buyer

Hire Date
TBD

Passionate about
Creativity

Contact
leisa@outsidebrands.com

Kelley Kendrick

Kelley Kendrick

Mens Buyer

Hire Date
February 2009

Passionate about
My family & rescue animals

Contact
kelley@outsidebrands.com

Mark Wray

Mark Wray

Paddlesports Buyer

Hire Date
February 1994

Passionate about
My family

Contact
mark@outsidebrands.com

Programs

Mickey Price

Mickey Price

Director of Marine Operations

Hire Date
March 2006

Passionate about
Being outdoors

Contact
mickey@outsidebrands.com

Patte Ranney

Patte Ranney

Guide Performance & Development Manager

Hire Date
January 2002

Passionate about
The natural world & indigenous wisdom

Contact
patte@outsidebrands.com

Jean Fruh

Jean Fruh

Intern Coordinator

Hire Date
February 2005

Passionate about
Learning

Contact
jean@outsidebrands.com

Boo Harrell

Boo Harrell

Palmetto Bluff Relationship Manager

Hire Date
May 1989

Passionate about
Being on the water

Contact
boo@outsidebrands.com

Michael Hodsdon

Michael Hodsdon

Shelter Cove Marina Operations Manager

Hire Date
February 2009

Passionate about
Learning and sharing knowledge

Contact
michaelh@outsidebrands.com

JC McCune

JC McCune

Lead Captain Facilities Manager

Hire Date
May 2015

Passionate about
Sharing my appreciation for the lowcountry

Contact
jc@outsidebrands.com

John Oliver Hinchey

John Oliver Hinchey

SS Manager

Hire Date
May 2015

Passionate about
Being on the water

Contact
jo@outsidebrands.com